It’s a Christmas Miracle!!

This is probably the first, and last time, that I’ll ever blog about something that I do relatively well that involves power tools…so listen up (if someone is reading this out loud to you).

Twice a year my lovely bride, Connie, and I clean out our dryer vent.  We hadn’t ever done it before but three or four years ago we decided to do it, bought the kit at the hardware store and on our first attempt dislodged enough lint to fill a fashionable pillow case (but we didn’t…we just threw it away).  My point is…it was a fire hazard and now we (somewhat) religiously clean the dryer vent duct work twice a year (spring and fall).

I, being the super-procrastinator that I am, decided to wait until today, December 8th and it’s temperatures in the thirties, to attempt this chore again.  Let me be clear…I’m not mechanically inclined…so much in fact that my gravestone will probably read “It all started with a pair of pliers and good intentions…RIP).  To add to this mini drama I turn into a cross between Archie Bunker and Toolman Tim….so clamity is ever so near.

Long story short…Connie and I completed the chore without incident (Thank you Lord!!) and even knocked out enough lint to shape into a nice sized well fed squirrel (if you’re into that sort of thing…shaping lint animals).  So my point is…if you’re not cleaning out your dryer vent regularly you may very well have enough lint trapped in your dryer duct to not only make lint-critters, but enough to restrict the flow of hot air from your dryer and start a fire and burn up your Christmas presents, dislodge your family and cause your computer to melt and you wouldn’t be able to read amazingly funny blogs in the upcoming year from the wonderfully creative writers here at the RICHRIPLEY STUDIOS of FINE ARTS AND ENTERTAINMENT (located off interstate 380 northbound, interchange 21, next to Barney’s House of Inflatable Lawn Ornaments–when you see the inflatable 25 foot leprechaun your gettin’ close).

12 feet of fiberglass rod with a brush on the end of it.  Think of it as a "scope" for your house and your the proctologist.

12 feet of fiberglass rod with a brush on the end of it. Think of it as a “scope” for your house and your the proctologist.

That's 12 feet of fiberglass rod.  I lost part of it in the duct work one time.  After a fair amount of swearing and sweating...I retrieved it.

That’s 12 feet of fiberglass rod. I lost part of it in the duct work one time. After a fair amount of swearing and sweating…I retrieved it.

I cleverly put my foot in this photo so you'd see the amount of lint that I got out of the duct work.

I cleverly put my foot in this photo so you’d see the amount of lint that I got out of the duct work.

It’s a mini Christmas miracle that somehow, someway we completed this task in less than twenty minutes, as I’m now somewhat of a master of giving my home it’s biannual scope.  This counts as part of my community service, my parole officer told me that, so did the judge….so there.

Peace.

R

4 thoughts on “It’s a Christmas Miracle!!

  1. What a great reminder and public service you’ve provided! I wouldn’t want to burn my house down and melt my computer and not be able to read the fascinating and wonderfully creative writing from the RichRipley studios. 🙂

    Cheers! MJ

Leave a Reply

