#1…Since when did “designer cupcakes” replace good old-fashioned birthday cake? DID I MISS A MEMO OR SOMETHING?!” Two of our three daughters chose to celebrate their birthdays with an assortment of said “designer cupcakes”, which were delicious but seriously…$2.75 for TWO MAN-SIZED bites? What a racket.

#2…My best friend, whom I’ve known since 1984, was recently transferred/promoted to a position that he’s been trying for, for a couple of years. It’s taking him out of a bad situation where he’s employed now and putting him into a job that he’s passionate about. After being told “you came in a close second to the person who we did hire” he finally came in first and I couldn’t be more proud of him and happy to boot. Several years ago I interviewed for a human resource position within our company at a successful store. It was one of those types of interviews where, upon leaving their parking lot, I thought to myself “it wouldn’t kill me if I didn’t get this job…”. Their boss called me a few days later and told me “entering the last day of interviews you were in first place, you were our guy…but then two applicants came in and totally blew us away…so you came in third place.” To be honest, I was relieved. I found out from the person that they did hire that the boss essentially wanted a personal assistant which I would be bored with if I had been hired.

#3…I worked a baseball game last Saturday as the plate umpire. The pitcher was having a tough time hitting the strike zone and was showing his frustration by stomping around the mound and muttering. When he finally did come up to bat for his team I called “time” and brushed off the home plate and spoke to him “you were real close on those pitches but if I count those as strikes then I’ll have to open up the strike zone for the other team as well, and I don’t think that you’d want that.” He looked at me and sincerely apologized for his behavior on the mound. I told him that I wasn’t mad and asked if he was ready to bat, then we continued on. As the game continued I could hear the same voice from the bleachers yelling at this same kid. “CALM DOWN!!” “DON’T GIVE ME THAT ATTITUDE!!” One time I turned around to see a man literally stalk down the fence towards the dugout yelling at this pitcher. I’m going to assume that it was his dad. At times like this I wish that I had a video camera or mirror to reflect what’s going on in the bleachers. The “apple didn’t fall far from the tree” is all I’m saying.

#4…I’m really digging three different songs right now. I wish that I could link them onto this blog but I cannot figure out how to link them, something about “trademarks” and such. “Happy” by Pharrell Williams. “Overcomer” and “Good Morning” by Mandisa. They’re real toe-tappers.

#5…Several years ago I was sitting with an elderly gentleman. He had suffered a couple of strokes and when he did speak, his speech was delivered haltingly. Jim Dickerson was his name. The only time Jim spoke without hesitating was when he was telling a joke, and this night Jim was on a roll. “In my younger years I drank a lot and caroused around with fast women. I didn’t keep the same job for very long before my bosses would get tired of my act and send me on my way. One morning I showed up to the construction site, late as usual, and was screwing around with some of the guys when our supervisor came around the corner and asked me if I knew the “THREE UP’S”. I replied that I didn’t know what he was talking about. He went on to say “Dickerson…the ‘THREE UP’S’ are SHOW UP; KEEP UP; AND SHUT UP.” “I never forgot that” Jim chuckled. I wonder how much better our workplaces would be if we all practiced the “Three up’s” a little more often?

Have a great weekend!!
R

