10,000 calories later….I push myself away from the table

I really don’t need to “get away” very often, you know, to have a good time. Its nice, no doubt, but long vacations aren’t needed by yours truly (which is great since I don’t have time to break away from lording over my minions at RIPLEY INDUSTRIES…ensuring peace and equality amongst them…you know who you are is all that I’m sayin’)

Connie and I took a daytrip to our states capital, Des Moines, for an overnighter. Its nice to get away, try different restaurants, a change of scenery and so on and so forth. Our first meal was at The Cheesecake Factory. Firstly, I was expecting a huge red brick building complete with tall smokestacks belching out thick cheesecake-scented smoke because of their name…CHEESECAKE FACTORY. Thus…was not the case…said “factory” was only a restaurant nestled into a mall between a Barnes and Noble bookseller and a movie theater. Who knew?! Anyway…very good food (abit overpriced) and the décor reminded me of a Disney theme park (over the top/whimsy).

For dessert I had the Hershey chocolate S'Mores cheesecake topped with marshmellow crème and graham crackers.  Connie had blueberry cheesecake.  Look at her goofy grin...of course she washed it down with a Diet Coke.
For dessert I had the Hershey chocolate S’Mores cheesecake topped with marshmellow crème and graham crackers. Connie had blueberry cheesecake. Look at her goofy grin…of course she washed it down with a Diet Coke.

After lunch we waddled around the mall, its an upscale mall for the most part. I was interested in what The Flip-flop footwear store sold the other eight months of the year….you know…when its like 10 degrees outside? Socks? A whole store…just flip-flops. Then there were the high-end stores which if you shop those stores, great…I’m not knocking you….but I was tempted to walk into one of them and ask in my best country-boy drawl “howyadoin’? I’m lookin’ for a pair of Wrangler boot-cut jeans, 34 waist, 32 leg. Nunthun’ fancy, none of them skinny jeans…I work for a livin'”. But I didn’t. Knowing those shopkeepers, they’ve probably already handled those requests before….this is Iowa.

Nothing says "HELLO GUEST!!" like a dude looking into your room as you walk into your third story room.  For the record...he was painting...at least that's what he told the police.
Nothing says “HELLO GUEST!!” like a dude looking into your room as you walk into your third story room. For the record…he was painting…at least that’s what he told the police.
This is why we go into the big city...to see what we're missing in little old Cedar Rapids.  Over there they use booze to wash their cars...us backwater folks...still using soap and water.
This is why we go into the big city…to see what we’re missing in little old Cedar Rapids. Over there they use booze to wash their cars…us backwater folks…still using soap and water.

Supper was at Johnny’s Italian Steakhouse where we both ordered…grilled cheese sandwiches…no seriously…we had steak. It was delicious and that particular steer didn’t die in vain.

MMMmmm...this is the way that I usually eat during the summer.  A beef patty stuffed with peppers, cheese and bacon.
MMMmmm…this is the way that I usually eat during the summer. A beef patty stuffed with peppers, cheese and bacon.
Washed down with an ice-cold pop, a hot off the grill burger, some chips and dip, this is one of my favorite summertime meals.
Washed down with an ice-cold pop, a hot off the grill burger, some chips and dip, this is one of my favorite summertime meals.

I hope that you had a chance to make it away this summer, if not….its still not too late….if even for a day.
Peace,
R

