Since my doubleheader was rained out tonight I can bring you Episode Two.

Monday dawned and we started out towards out second NYC landmark with a visit to the American Museum of Natural History.  Its the one featured in the movie “Night at the Museum” though actor Ben Stiller was nowhere to be found.  We did find, however, find a portly middle-aged, balding “Barney Fife” security guard with an Eastern European accent who told us repeatedly that we couldn’t stand where we wished to stand while we waited for the place to open.  It was comical to say the least and I thought about engaging him in a polite conversation about something wholly different from where we wanted to stand…like “how do I get a job here?” or “did you graduate from Lincoln High in ’82…cause you look like a dude that I used to hang out with and play Galaxian…”  Instead we retreated across the street to Central Park where I totally annihilated a gyro for breakfast.  Connie, feeling that my table manners lacked, snapped a quick photo to capture the carnage (it never stood a chance…that tasty seasoned meat lathered in cucumber sauce).  Feeling full of myself, and gyro, we entered the museum and parted ways.  Connie could stay in a museum for days.  Me….couplea hours.  MAX.  If you’ve seen one tyrannous rex skeleton….you’ve seen them all.

The carnage of eating a gyro and not getting any sauce on your slacks

The carnage of eating a gyro and not getting any sauce on your slacks

American Museum of Natural History

American Museum of Natural History

We also went to the Whitney Museum of American Art, which I didn’t think that I’d like but ended up really enjoying myself. (us artsy-types attract other artsy-types)

what do you know...a statue...

what do you know…a statue…

I found a painting of my great great great uncle Lester the Explorer...on the Wagner side of the family.  Famous and flamboyant he met his Maker after not paying his tab for a copious amount of rum sidecars

I found a painting of my great great great uncle Lester the Explorer…on the Wagner side of the family. Famous and flamboyant he met his Maker after not paying his tab for a copious amount of rum sidecars

We had three o’clock reservations at a place called Jean-Georges Nougatine so we hot-footed our way to Trump Tower off Columbus Circle.  They have a deal where during certain hours you can get a gourmet, three course meal for $38….which is outstanding.  We arrived twenty minutes early and they promptly sat us at their bar.  I ordered something that I’ve never had before…a rum sidecar in honor of my late Uncle Lester (see above photo).  Our bartender could have passed as a leading man in a movie.  Handsome.  Fit.  A regular James Bond kind of guy.  He sliced a lime, then slid it along the rim of the glass.  He then sprinkled sugar over the wetted rim, before putting the Cointreau, rum and lemon juice into a chrome shaker.  He expertly agitated the drink with only his arms moving, the rest of him…sturdy as a statue.  It was one of the best tasting drinks that I’ve ever had, and I now know why they call it a “sidecar”….as in “if you have too many of these…you’ll be going home in a sidecar.”  Our meal was excellentSimply awesome.  If I could have licked my plate clean….I would have.  I’d recommend it to anyone visiting NYC, though make reservations well in advance of your visit.

Connie with her appetizer.  It was delicious!

Connie with her appetizer. It was delicious!

Freshly made vanilla ice cream with a warm cake filled with hot fudge sauce.

Freshly made vanilla ice cream with a warm cake filled with hot fudge sauce.

 

We retired to our room after what was a really good day.  Interesting sights.  Great food and we only got lost once.  Installment three may be awhile off.  I have games the remainder of the week.  Until then…thank you for reading.  God Bless!

R

Day 2…Self Improvement Required….I Visit An Art Museum

Leave a Reply

