For our sixth and final day in NYC we took the subway down and over towards Chinatown, but stopped along the way to one of the restaurants that Connie had researched prior, The Clinton Street Bakery.  Nestled into another old neighborhood we walked past the world famous Katz’s Deli and put in our names for a table.  What was promised to be a 45 minute wait was only about ten.  The place is small, but packed with people, which is always a good sign to two hungry Iowans.  The food was delicious.  I mean over the top delicious, but be prepared to pay cash as they don’t take credit cards.

At the Clinton Street Bakery.  I have no idea what old Moosehead is doing behind Connie.

At the Clinton Street Bakery. I have no idea what old Moosehead is doing behind Connie.

 

After breakfast we walked down to Chinatown…which remarkably resembles a town in China!  (who knew…?)  After Chinatown we walked through Little Italy and Soho before ducking into the subway to escape the summer heat.

Next stop....Chinatown!!

Next stop….Chinatown!!

Dried shrimp and other dried sea creatures.  Where's Forrest now...?

Dried shrimp and other dried sea creatures. Where’s Forrest now…?

With no itinerary and it being the last day in NYC we ventured back up to Hell’s Kitchen and Times Square to do some more sight-seeing.  The mid-afternoon sun cascading through the leafy canopy of tree-lined streets I caught the smell of cinnamon and brown sugar and spun around on a dime like one of those showgirls that I’d seen the night before….and headed to the bakery that we’d just passed.  I had a banana crème pie all of myself…a mini banana crème pie.  Apparently Oprah has eaten there too from what I gathered from the newspaper clippings hanging on the wall read.   I’m glad that she left some for us.

MMMMM.....pie

MMMMM…..pie

Supper at Hurley's Saloon off Times Square.  I ate under a painting of Cool and the Gang.  I told my waiter that my food was "too hot...too hot baby...gotta run for shelter gotta run for shaaddee."

Supper at Hurley’s Saloon off Times Square. I ate under a painting of Cool and the Gang. I told my waiter that my food was “too hot…too hot baby…gotta run for shelter gotta run for shaaddee.”

Towards the end of any vacation I’m ready and willing to go home, my bride….not so much.  Once back at our room we find that what we came with and what we bought to take home with us has made our suitcases bulge much like our waistlines….just a little snug.  While I’m not much of a “travel guy” (I’m more of a “where’s my wife going this summer that I’ll have to go with her” ) I was totally taken off guard by how friendly New Yorkers are.  I mean this….it wasn’t uncommon for folks to see us, map in hand looking like lost idiots, approach us and ask if they could help us find something or such.  The stories of the rude New Yorker I didn’t see, though the tourists more than made up for it.

 

We’re up and in a taxi heading towards LaGuardia at 4:30 AM, leaving NYC on a rainy mid-June morn.  Long story short….great flight from NYC to Chicago.  A small layover in Chicago before getting on a regional jet headed to God’s country….Iowa.  You know that you’re in for a wild ride when prior to taking off the pilot comes on and announces “Folks…it’ll be a tough ride….if you need to visit the restroom do it now” before you even leave the terminal.  In his defense…the turbulence was….breathtakingly abundant. 

The expression that Connie gave me as our  flight passed through thunderstorms....though this isn't Connie...just sayin

The expression that Connie gave me as our flight passed through thunderstorms….though this isn’t Connie…just sayin

A friend had texted me while we were in Chicago “I hope that you’re here soon.  Bad storms coming in!!”  I notice how quickly I write when our plane dips, gyrates and shimmies through the air.  My bride, the honorable Mrs. Ripley, is as white as a ghost.  Soon enough…we’re on the ground in Cedar Rapids just as a line of strong thunderstorms hits the area with hail, high winds and rain.  Thank God that we’re safe!!

 

It’s been a great vacation.  Thanks for tagging along.  God bless and take care!

R

Our trip ending…we escape to Chinatown

Leave a Reply

