We tried something different on this vacation. We hired someone to drive us around in a Jeep, up in the mountains, above the tree line and I thoroughly enjoyed it…the girls…maybe not so much.  The drive took us on roads (if you can call them that…) up steep inclines, through creeks and on plenty of paths that I wouldn’t have had the courage to try to navigate.  The reward was breathtaking views and time with family.  Our drivers name was John, though he reminded me a lot of my buddy Joel.  His voice, his demeanor, his knowledge of wildlife and the history of Aspen and Colorado (maybe not Joel so much in that regard) and his easy going segues into being a smart-ass and laughing at his own jokes.  Good times.

We passed maybe two or three vehicles all day on these paths.
We passed maybe two or three vehicles all day on these paths.
YIKES!!!  I thought for a second that Bigfoot had jumped in the Jeep with us.  Turns out its just Connie Sue's hair went bat-sh*t crazy.
YIKES!!! I thought for a second that Bigfoot had jumped in the Jeep with us. Turns out its just Connie Sue’s hair went bat-sh*t crazy.
We were lucky enough to see this young bear along the way.  I coaxed him into the Jeep, scratched his ears and sung him a little Rocky Mountain High before turning him back into the wild.  I think...he cried a little as we drove off.
We were lucky enough to see this young bear along the way. I coaxed him into the Jeep, scratched his ears and sung him a little Rocky Mountain High before turning him back into the wild. I think…he cried a little as we drove off.
Even above the tree-line my legs are sexy.  True story
Even above the tree-line my legs are sexy. True story
We had a picnic in an old ghost town near Aspen
We had a picnic in an old ghost town near Aspen
The wonderful views were plentiful.  Just awe inspiring.  The camera doesn't do it justice
The wonderful views were plentiful. Just awe inspiring. The camera doesn’t do it justice
Group "jump" photo.  First attempt....fail
Group “jump” photo. First attempt….fail
second attempt....NAILED IT!!
second attempt….NAILED IT!!
...and sisters being sisters
…and sisters being sisters
Hurricane Pass
Hurricane Pass
No trip to Glenwood Springs is complete without stopping by my buddy Big Sid's Bottles and gettin' a little medicine.
No trip to Glenwood Springs is complete without stopping by my buddy Big Sid’s Bottles and gettin’ a little medicine.
...and not having anything to do with Big Sid's Bottles is that all of that fresh air required a nap in the afternoon.
…and not having anything to do with Big Sid’s Bottles is that all of that fresh air required a nap in the afternoon.

So far….a great vacation.  Thanks for coming along.

R

 

 

