Ugh…hiking

As you may or may not know, my bride sets up our itinerary for our vacations.  I’m free to participate in them or not.  An activity like horseback riding is something that I’ve passed on, which is really extraordinary seeing as how I look and act so much like a real live cowboy.  The confident swagger (I got it).  The “awe shucks Ma’am” demeanor after I rescue a lady in distress (nailed it).  The boyish good looks (what can I say?  God don’t make no mistakes…).  The alpha male/John Wayne persona (got muh six-shooter by muh side…pilgrim).  Me wearing just my straw cowboy hat and underwear, bare-chested on the cabins porch…blowing the steam off of my pine cone-shaped coffee mug (lookin’ pretty good if I do say so myself…).

Anyway…Connie had set up a couple of hiking days for us.  One at Maroon Bells and the other at Hanging Lake.  Let me be clear about this.  Despite all of the macho stuff that you may think that you know about yours truly, Rich Ripley….liar extraordinaire, I really don’t care for activities.  I like “alone time”.  Driving…alone.  Eating…alone.  Listening to music…alone.  Watching TV…alone.  You get the idea.  But here’s the catch, we had our three adult daughters along and I thought that I’d regret it if I didn’t hike with them…so up the mountain side I went, mile after glorious mile.  Here are a number of photos with descriptions and captions.

The "trail" for Hanging Lake. It ascends 1000' in altitude in 1.2 miles of climbing.

The “trail” for Hanging Lake. It ascends 1000′ in altitude in 1.2 miles of climbing.

I was goofing around at the trial head when our middle daughter scolded me.

Karalee:  Dad…quit joking around so much.  You’ll run out of breath!

Me:  That’s quitter talk!!  Ha ha ha WHEEZ….WHEEZZ….WHEEEEZZZ!!!

(Not a lot of oxygen up there in those hills.  Rest assured…I remained hilarious)

The troops mutinied when I set a pace that was too brisk and was demoted to the rear of the formation, a prime bear-target area. As I reminded the girls, "I only have to run faster than one of you, which I most surely will." Family vacations bring out the BEST in me.

The troops mutinied when I set a pace that was too brisk and was demoted to the rear of the formation, a prime bear-target area. As I reminded the girls, “I only have to run faster than one of you, which I most surely will.” Family vacations bring out the BEST in me.

Hanging Lake is stunningly beautiful....but when your daughter asks you to do a pano selfie you jump ALL OVER IT!!

Hanging Lake is stunningly beautiful….but when your daughter asks you to do a pano selfie you jump ALL OVER IT!!

This is what we climbed to see and were NOT disappointed. WHEEEZZZ!!

This is what we climbed to see and were NOT disappointed. WHEEEZZZ!!

Maroon Bells on a grey rainy day. Still beautiful.

Maroon Bells on a grey rainy day. Still beautiful.

Awesomely wonderful

Awesomely wonderful

We got lost for a few hours...that's when my Cub Scout training kicked in. OVER THERE GIRLS!! I SEE A STARBUCKS!! (I wore black knee high socks that day. I regret nothing)

We got lost for a few hours…that’s when my Cub Scout training kicked in. OVER THERE GIRLS!! I SEE A STARBUCKS!! (I wore black knee high socks that day. I regret nothing)

My advice to you about hiking is this:

  1. Wear good shoes & proper clothing.
  2. Take snacks and plenty of water.
  3. Arrive early.  It’ll take awhile to hike a mile or so to the attraction, and back.
  4. Learn multiple songs that can be sung by many, songs like 99 Bottles of beer on the wall.  Singers of 99 Bottles of beer on the wall rarely surprise moose and/or bear, and if you do surprise them and they take one of your group…hopefully its the tenor.  No one likes those snooty tenors….am I right?!

Okay…activities aside….we’d return to the cabin except for the one day when….

OH. MY. LORD. This place ROCKED!!

OH. MY. LORD. This place ROCKED!!

We were on the verge of death…literally starving and on life-support when we walked into this eatery in Glenwood Springs.  Our daughters milled around the illuminated glass display cases when the owner (a younger guy) approached them and asked “YOU GIRLS READY TO PARTY?!”  This place specializes in donuts, cronuts and specialty sandwiches.  We went for the cronuts and were filled with fried, iced and filled with cream….DELICIOUSNESS!!   It closes at two in the afternoon so we got two for the price of one…or at least the girls did.

A pack of hungry wolves couldn't have done it any better as we tore into these delectable pastries.

A pack of hungry wolves couldn’t have done it any better as we tore into these delectable pastries.

Later on that night we drove down to Aspen to check out….wait for it….

Excuse me while I get in touch with my inner nerd

Excuse me while I get in touch with my inner nerd

Its beautiful. Its free. Its like his music.

Its beautiful. Its free. Its like his music.

yep...just quiet with the sound of the brook running through it...all in Aspen

yep…just quiet with the sound of the brook running through it…all in Aspen

Connie and Jordan

Connie and Jordan

As for Aspen itself…I could live with never going back.  Its pricy and getting around is a little congested, what with it being nestled in between majestic peaks and such.  We did see some cool homes though.  The average price of a single family home?  Five million clams. 

Our cabin was a good place to stay.  Unfortunately there were some issues that arose.  We were blessed (still are).  Our problems weren’t health or safety related…just a broken washer so that I had to haul our bath towels into town every day and wash them, then truck them back to the cabin to dry.  THAT…right there…is a FIRST WORLD problem.

There's nothing like walking in from a 90+ degree parking lot into a 90+ degree, steamy laundromat. I jot down some blog notes while Macy snaps the pic.

There’s nothing like walking in from a 90+ degree parking lot into a 90+ degree, steamy laundromat. I jot down some blog notes while Macy snaps the pic.

One more day of vacation left, plus a few twists and turns along the way.  I think that I enjoy the road more than the stay.  Thank you for following along.  This vacation was made all the more enjoyable back when my brother Brian left for college in the summer of ’77 and left his record collection for me.  Hours of listening to him and Creedence Clearwater Revival.  That was a pretty good summer.

Until next time.  God bless.

R

 

 

4 thoughts on “Ugh…hiking

  1. I soooooo loved this one!!!

    [The Kiddoo Co]
    [Barb 1]

    BARB KIDDOO
    P.O. Box 100
    Joy, IL 61260
    309-584-9911 866-623-9911
    309-337-4816-cell

    Securities offered through Securities America, Inc. Member FINRA/SIPC. Barb Kiddoo, Investment Representative. Advisory Services offered through Securities America Advisors, Inc. Barb Kiddoo, Financial Advisor. The Kiddoo Company and Securities America are unaffiliated.

    Trading instructions sent via email may not be honored. Please contact my office at 309-584-9911 or Securities America, Inc. at 1-800-747-6111 for all buy/sell orders. Please be advised that communications regarding trades in your account are for informational purposes only. You should continue to rely on confirmations and statements received from the custodian(s) of your assets. The text of this communication is confidential, and use by any person who is not the intended recipient is prohibited. Any person who receives this communication in error is requested to immediately destroy the text of this communication without copying or further dissemination. Your cooperation is appreciated.

    If you no longer want to receive e-mail from me, please reply to this email with the word “unsubscribe” in the subject line. I will promptly remove your email from future correspondence.

    CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This email message and/or attachments are for the sole use of the intended recipients and may contain information that is privileged, confidential or otherwise exempt from disclosure. If you are not an intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution, or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited. If you have received this email in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the original message and destroying all copies of the message and attachments. Although this email and attachments are believed to be free of any virus or other defect, it is the responsibility of the recipient to ensure that it is free from virus. The Kiddoo Company is not responsible for any loss or damage arising from the receipt or use of this email or attachments. Thank you.
    CORRESPONDENCE NOTICE: This email message and/or attachments are subject to human and technical errors. This does not replace notices you have received from other entities. It is your responsibility to verify accuracy and any discrepancies must be reported to The Kiddoo Company. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

