Rainy day road signs and rattlesnakes

With our time in Colorado coming to an end we packed up and headed east towards home, a two-day drive for us.  VACATION 2016 was ending.  The following are photos from various days that have a story to tell.

We drove in a steady rain for the first three hours...up and down mountains. I can't say that I'll miss those hills.

We drove in a steady rain for the first three hours…up and down mountains. I can’t say that I’ll miss those hills.

Oh great...rattlesnakes. My bride "got me" with the old "dead brand on the back of her husbands bare leg" trick. Once I returned to Earth I calmly told her that I didn't appreciate such sophomoric stunts.

Oh great…rattlesnakes. My bride “got me” with the old “dead branch on the back of her husbands bare leg” trick. Once I returned to Earth I calmly told her in a high pitched/profanity laced tirade that I did NOT appreciate such sophomoric stunts.

 

Cousins having fun. Karalee and Maddie

Cousins having fun. Karalee and Maddie

Maddie and my mother-in-law Ardis. I'm her favorite son-in-law. You'll have that when you're the ONLY son-in-law. Regardless...it was great seeing everyone at the wedding.

Maddie and my mother-in-law Ardis. I’m her favorite son-in-law. You’ll have that when you’re the ONLY son-in-law. Regardless…it was great seeing everyone at the wedding.

Macy and Karalee yelling at their Uncle Jim who's crossing the hotel parking lot. Wallflowers one minute, obnoxious loudmouths the next...poor Jim

Macy and Karalee yelling at their Uncle Jim who’s crossing the hotel parking lot. Wallflowers one minute, obnoxious loudmouths the next…poor Jim

Apparently Connie and I are taking too long at Bridal Falls as we get the old "geez...are they done yet?" hands on hips look from Jordan and Macy

Apparently Connie and I are taking too long at Bridal Falls as we get the old “geez…are they done yet?” hands on hips look from Jordan and Macy

Here's the girls watching the Sound of Music. Our cabin didn't have a TV stand so Connie had to hold it the whole time.

Here’s the girls watching the Sound of Music. Our cabin didn’t have a TV stand so Connie had to hold it the whole time.

Oh joy...eight and a half hours of driving and we lose an hour going back to Central Standard Time. No matter how you slice it...a long day

Oh joy…eight and a half hours of driving and we gain an hour coming back to Central Standard Time. No matter how you slice it…a long day.

 

 

The foot bridge at the cabin. Mostly used for bear and mountain lion traffic, I'd occasionally tempt fate and cross during rush hour.

The foot bridge at the cabin. Mostly used for bear and mountain lion traffic, I’d occasionally tempt fate and cross during rush hour.

I crept down into the creek to get this photo of both bridges at the cabin and was accompanied by several thousand thirsty mosquitoes. I quickly departed but not before satisfying most of their appetites.

I crept down into the creek to get this photo of both bridges at the cabin and was accompanied by several thousand thirsty mosquitoes. I quickly departed but not before quenching most of their thirsts.

From Scottsbluff NE. "We have nice rooms. Not great...but you know...nice, but not TOO nice."

From Scottsbluff NE. “We have nice rooms. Not great…but you know…nice, but not TOO nice.”

We stopped in Ogallala Nebraska for lunch on our way home.  We found the place, a finished out Morten building on the far end of town away from the interstate, with help of Yelp.  You could tell that it was thee meeting place, complete with bar, sit-down restaurant area and meeting room for banquets.  After we placed our order at the bar the woman taking our order asked where we were from.  I laughed, replying “…is it that obvious that we’re not from here?”  We stood out from their “regulars”.  Good food and we were back on the road towards Grand Island.

What the hell is going on in Wyoming that they need six inch thick walls separating each urinal? Never mind....I don't want to know.

What the hell is going on in Wyoming rest areas that they need six inch thick concrete partitions separating each urinal? Never mind….I don’t want to know.

In Glenwood Springs CO. Not quite sure about this...?

In Glenwood Springs CO. Not quite sure about this…?

I love a good sign. Direct Dial Touch Tone Phones?!?! Can I get TWO rooms?

I love a good sign. Direct Dial Touch Tone Phones?!?! What’s next…COLOR TV’S in EVERY room?!

My favorite sign...in the middle of Starbucks, Subway & modern business's. Their lobby had a statue of....wait for it...ELVIS.

My favorite sign…in the middle of nowhere amongst a Starbucks, Subway & modern business’s. Their lobby had a statue of….wait for it…ELVIS.

My second favorite sign

My second favorite sign

Found this novelty in Glenwood Springs. Turns out me and my friends are worth MILLIONS!!

Found this novelty in Glenwood Springs. Turns out me and my friends are worth MILLIONS!!

Oh boy...eastern Colorado. Hours and hours and hours of this...

Oh boy…eastern Colorado & western Nebraska. Hours and hours and hours of this…

...and llif Colorado. llif?

…and llif Colorado. llif?

Did I tell you that I love a good sign? Julesburg CO

Did I tell you that I love a good sign? Julesburg CO

Cabin yard and creek. Many a lion, tiger & bear were seen in this area every evening when I wanted to look at the stars.

Cabin yard and creek. Many a lion, tiger & bear were seen in this area every evening when I wanted to look at the stars.

Saw this interesting business partnership. Bar & Barbershop.

At first I was drawn to the Walken sign then saw this interesting business partnership. Bar & Barbershop.  Get a buzz cut while getting buzzed.

Connie shows us how long the last snake she saw was....which wasn't that long ago...

Connie shows us how long the last snake she saw was….which wasn’t that long ago…

Cheers!!

Massive cronut and Blackberry soda for lunch after a morning of hiking.  Not.  Too.  Shabby.  Cheers!!

Present day vacation photo....

Present day vacation photo….

 

 

...but when I look in the back seat....I still see this.

…but when I look in the back seat….I still see this.

Our last night of vacation was spent in Grand Island Nebraska….still over six hours away from home.  Our company has a grocery store in Grand Island.  I’d sound less than authentic if I didn’t admit that it was good to get back to what I’m used to.  It felt reassuringly familiar, even if it was Nebraska.

Thank you for coming along with us.  I enjoyed your comments and hope that you had a good time reading.  Take care and God bless.

R

 

 

Leave a Reply

